Scenes From An Imaginary Western

My art, My Stories

The Arcade Fire love…’The Painting of the Day’ (Wednesday edition) June 22, 2011

Good morning! Today I have another painting from the ‘Fallow Ground’ series. It’s the biggest painting (I think) in the whole series, and one of the largest pieces I’ve ever done. I won’t go into all the symbolism I’ve loaded this thing down with, but I will say that I had a specific goal in mind when I started the piece: to make something that was so busy that it was difficult to look at. Seems like a strange goal, but I was listening to ‘Trout Mask Replica’ (Captain Beefheart and His Magic Band) a lot at the time so, you know…it just seemed like the right thing to do. I think I succeeded, at least a little. Have a great one!

Last Ditch (Agamemnon)

84″ x 180″

latex enamel on wood

 

Leave a Reply

